Virtual Author Event with Kendra Atleework

Join BookBar for a virtual author event with Kendra Atleework on July 23 at 6pm. Kendra’s debut book “Miracle Country: A Memoir” is available for purchase through our website. Please email events@bookbardenver.com to RSVP and receive the Zoom link for the event!

About the Book: “Kendra Atleework grew up in a region so dry that a single spark could set her whole town ablaze, and did, more than once, destroying homes and lives and leaving the entire town and its 200 inhabitants on constant edge. Swall Meadows, in the Owens Valley of the Eastern Sierra Nevada, often averaged just five inches of rain annually, and in drought years, closer to zero; this was before aqueducts poached much of their water for the far more affluent Los Angeles, draining their supply even further. Raised to thrive in this harsh, unforgiving landscape, battered constantly by wildfires, blizzards, and gale-force wind, Atleework and her family forged their own relationship with this fierce landscape as climate change intensified.

In the tradition of Rebecca Solnit, Terry Tempest Williams, and Mary Austen, Atleework has written an extraordinary and utterly moving debut “Miracle Country: A Memoir”, that captures one family’s spirit and losses in a land that has been shaped and exploited over hundreds of years, and chronicles her journey as she realizes there’s nowhere else in the country, no matter how green and welcoming, that feels like home. “Kendra Atleework has written the most beautiful book about California I ever have read,” says Richard Rodriguez, author of Darling: A Spiritual Autobiography. “The author locates the mystery and beauty of her life in the small town of Bishop. Her poet's prose, on every page, honors the dry land and breathes Nature to life.”  

In breathtaking prose, Atleework melds the story of her family—broken and bereaved after the death of her mother—with the ravages of climate change and its permanent destruction of the way of life in one particular town. A story of flight and return, bounty and emptiness, and the true meaning of home, “Miracle Country” unveils our complex need for home and our fear and love for the awe-inspiring Earth.”

About the Author: Kendra Atleework received her MFA in creative writing from the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis. An essay that formed the basis for a chapter of “Miracle Country” was selected for The Best American Essays 2015. She is the recipient of the Ellen Meloy Desert Writers Award and the AWP Intro Journals Project Award.

Event date: 
Thursday, July 23, 2020 - 6:00pm
Miracle Country: A Memoir Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781616209988
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Books - July 14th, 2020