Joe Masi Poetry Reading & Signing

Join Denver author Joe Masi for a reading of his new memoir-in-poetry collection Depression Baby on Saturday, October 26th at 7pm.

About the Author: Joe Masi was born in 1930. He is the author of a chapbook, Poetica de Poetica (Prolific Press), and his poetry appears in 34th Parallel, Evening Street, Trajectory, The Raven’s Perch, WestWard Quarterly, and others. Joe teaches both ethics and American politics at the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute in Denver. In 1950, he was featured in a five-page spread in LIFE, which chronicled his career as a Princeton B-team quarterback, daily facing off against the No. 4 football team in the nation. The book cover of Depression Baby is from that LIFE feature story.

About the Book: In Depression Baby, Joe Masi provides us a rare and important historical record, one told entirely in narrative poetry. In the tradition of Carl Sandburg or Ted Kooser, Masi’s plain
spoken, distinctly American voice emerges through his fascinating personal stories and wry observations on life. Filled with humor and pathos, Depression Baby is not merely a memoir; it’s an entertaining history lesson—one that offers us a unique story-lens through which to view the past.

Event date: 
Saturday, October 26, 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm