Out of My Shell (Hardcover)

Out of My Shell Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


An inspiring and timely story of friendship, courage, and the magic that can happen when we stand up for what's right.

Normally, Olivia spends all year looking forward to her family's summer vacation in Florida. But not this year. Not when her parents have recently separated, and her father has to stay behind in Colorado. Olivia doesn't know what she'll do all summer without him. They've always been a pair, and she's never felt the same bond with her mother or younger sister.

So Olivia plans to spend the summer laying low, and trying to ignore the hurt gnawing at her heart. But when she learns that the local sea turtle population is in serious risk of dying off because of her neighbor's poorly designed house, she knows she has to do something. She can't just watch the beautiful creatures suffer.

Yet her chances of helping the turtles are slim, and she can't handle any more heartbreak. Will Olivia turn her back on her favorite animal to avoid the pain? Or will she find the courage to stand up for the turtles, and maybe heal herself in the process?

About the Author


Jenny Goebel is the author of Grave Images, The 39 Clues: Mission Hurricane, and Fortune Falls. She lives in Denver with her husband and three sons.

Praise For…


Praise for Out of My Shell:
"Liv is a reflective, compassionate, and self-aware narrator, and she juggles myriad conflicting emotions, struggling especially with how to express her feelings while being considerate of those of the people around her. A strong story about growing up." - Kirkus Reviews

"A comforting book for fans of Ali Benjamin and Suzanne LaFleur." - Booklist

Praise for Fortune Falls:

* "Rich language, well-paced plotting, and rounded characters create an enchanting, hard-to-leave world. Sadie is a clever, resourceful, and brave heroine who is unwilling to abandon her family and friends, even when facing insurmountable odds. Make space on your shelves for this one." -- Booklist , Starred Review
"Bad luck has never been so interesting; hand this to middle grade readers who enjoy tales with a touch of magic and a plucky underdog." -- School Library Journal
Product Details
ISBN: 9781338259551
ISBN-10: 1338259555
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: June 25th, 2019
Pages: 224