Karma Moon--Ghost Hunter (Hardcover)

Karma Moon--Ghost Hunter Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
5 on hand, as of May 13 12:45am
(BOOKS KIDS)

Description


While staying in a haunted Colorado hotel for her father's ghost-hunting television series, Karma Moon must battle her anxiety, interpret the signs of the universe, and get footage of a real ghost--you know, the usual.

Karma Moon is a firm believer in everything "woo-woo," as her dad calls it. So when she asked her trusty Crystal Mystic if the call asking her dad to create a ghost-hunting docuseries was her dad's big break, it delivered: "No doubt about it." Because the universe never gets it wrong. Only people do.

Karma and her best friend, Mags, join her dad's Totally Rad film crew at a famous haunted hotel in Colorado over her spring break. Their mission: find a ghost and get it on camera. If they succeed, the show will be a hit, they can pay rent on time, and just maybe, her mom will come back.

Unfortunately, staying at a haunted hotel isn't a walk in the park for someone with a big case of the what-ifs. But her dad made Karma the head of research for the docuseries, so she, Mags, and a mysterious local boy named Nyx must investigate every strange happening in the historically creepy Stanley Hotel. Karma hopes that her what-ifs don't make her give up the ghost before they can find a starring spirit to help their show go viral--and possibly even get them a season two.

With Melissa Savage's quirky cast of characters and spooky setting underlaid by a touching and relatable struggle against anxiety and grief over her fractured family, Karma Moon--Ghosthunter is bound to charm and delight.

About the Author


Melissa Savage is the author of Lemons, The Truth About Martians, and Nessie Quest. She is also a child and family therapist. Melissa loves writing cryptozoological mysteries (think Bigfoot and the Loch Ness Monster) of any kind for kids--incuding the paranormal kind. You can follow Melissa on Twitter at @melissadsavage or visit her at melissadsavage.com.

Praise For…


“The real heart of the story is the “true-blue” friendship between Karma and Mags. There is a depth and ease to their relationship that feels just right, most notably when Mags comforts Karma over her mom, who’s left her behind.” —Kirkus Reviews

"With a witty, authentic lead and a story line that’s just spooky enough to keep readers on the edge of their seats, this is a perfect read for fans of Patti Kim, Ellen Oh, and Neil Gaiman alike." —School Library Journal

"The mystery’s mix of unshakable friendship, spooky excitement, and life lessons pops with an empowering protagonist who’s full of promise." —Publisher's Weekly

"An insightful and entertaining look into the world of paranormal investigation for middle graders." —Shelf Awareness


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593302798
ISBN-10: 0593302796
Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: January 19th, 2021
Pages: 352
Language: English